Skip Navigation


Australian Grand Prix Flashback - 2015

Hamilton wins Australian GP

Lewis Hamilton kicked off his charge to a third Formula 1 world title in style a year ago, beating his Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg to win the Australian Grand Prix.

Hamilton led comfortably throughout to win the season opener, 1.3s clear of Rosberg, with Sebastian Vettel a distant third on his Ferrari debut.

The reigning champion converted pole into an early lead, only briefly conceding first spot during the pit stop phase, as he started his title defence with a win at Melbourne’s Albert Park.

Vettel beat Williams’ Felipe Massa to third on his first start for Ferrari, after the Brazilian lost time behind Red Bull racer Daniel Ricciardo.

Kimi Raikkonen seemed set for fifth position, only to retire late on after a botched second sztop, pulling out of the pits with a loose left-rear tyre.

Formula 1 rookie Felipe Nasr scored Sauber’s first points in over a year with a fine drive to fifth, ahead of local favourite Ricciardo, who was a lapped sixth.

Nico Hulkenberg was seventh for Force India, while Marcus Ericsson scored his first points in F1 after a late charge to eighth in the Sauber.

Carlos Sainz Jr. was another rookie to collect points on his debut, as the Spaniard crossed the line ninth for Toro Rosso.

Sergio Perez picked up the final point on offer in tenth, despite a spin at Turn 3 early in the race as he battled with Jenson Button, who was the final classified runner in 11th.

Teenage F1 rookie Max Verstappen ran strongly within the points for Toro Rosso, but retired in the second half of the race after a Renault engine failure.